Close

Search the site

Personal Safety and Social Responsibilities (STCW PSSR)

About this course

This classroom-based course offers basic induction training in safety procedures and accident prevention and familiarises novices with the employment conditions and working environment on board. Upon completion of the course, students should have gained sufficient knowledge to be able to:

  • Comply with emergency procedures
  • Take precautions to prevent pollution of the marine environment
  • Observe safe working practices
  • Contribute to effective communications on board ship
  • Contribute to effective human relationships on board ship
  • Understand and take necessary actions to control fatigue.

The course is part of the mandatory basic safety training courses, which also include Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting, Personal Survival Techniques and Elementary First Aid.

The course is also included in our STCW Basic Safety Training Week.

|

How to book

Please contact the admissions team if you require more information about this course:

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8201 5004 
Email: wma.training@solent.ac.uk

Normal office hours are (UK time):
Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30

Please be aware that online bookings will be confirmed with joining information within one working day of the booking being made. Confirmation of payment should be received in the normal way.

Please ensure that you follow the booking process and do not enter payment details more than once, unless you are booking more than one course. If you experience any issues, please email wma.training@solent.ac.uk.

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Monday 4 September 2017 Yes £125 Book
Monday 25 September 2017 Yes £125 Book
Monday 16 October 2017 Yes £125 Book
Monday 6 November 2017 Yes £125 Book
Monday 4 December 2017 Yes £125 Book
Monday 29 January 2018 Yes £125 Book
Monday 26 February 2018 Yes £125 Book
Monday 19 March 2018 Yes £125 Book
Monday 23 April 2018 Yes £125 Book
Monday 14 May 2018 Yes £125 Book
Monday 4 June 2018 Yes £125 Book
Monday 25 June 2018 Yes £125 Book
Monday 16 July 2018 Yes £125 Book

Course information

Next available date

Monday 4 September 2017

Duration

Half day

Price

£125

Training towards

STCW Basic Safety Training

Approvals

MCA