Close

Favourite coursesWhat is this?

The courses you add to your favourites panel will be saved for the duration of your browser session.

Save the courses you are interested in to this panel by clicking the 'Add to favourites' link on each course page

Proficiency in Survival Craft and Rescue Boats (STCW PSCRB)

About this course

  This course prepares crew for the launching and handling of survival craft through a series of practical exercises using a range of open and enclosed lifeboats and inflatable rescue boats to build confidence, competence and knowledge of safety procedures.

Upon completion of the course, students should be able to demonstrate the capability to:

  • Take charge of a survival craft or rescue boat during and after launch
  • Operate a survival craft engine
  • Manage survivors and survival craft after abandoning ship
  • Use locating devices including communications, signalling apparatus and pyrotechnics
  • Apply first aid to survivors.

How to book

Please contact the Admissions and Recruitment Team if you require more information about this course or wish to book offline:

Tel: +44 (0)23 8201 5004
Email: wma.training@solent.ac.uk  

Normal office hours are (UK time):

Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30

 

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Monday 15 February 2016 Yes £698 Please enquire
Monday 29 February 2016 No £698 Please enquire
Monday 7 March 2016 No £698 Please enquire
Monday 4 April 2016 No £698 Please enquire
Monday 11 April 2016 No £698 Please enquire
Monday 25 April 2016 No £698 Please enquire
Monday 9 May 2016 Yes £698
Monday 16 May 2016 Yes £698
Monday 23 May 2016 Yes £698
Monday 6 June 2016 Yes £698
Monday 13 June 2016 Yes £698
Monday 27 June 2016 No £698 Please enquire
Monday 11 July 2016 Yes £698
Monday 18 July 2016 Yes £698
Monday 25 July 2016 No £698 Please enquire

Book now

Book now

Course information

Next available date

Monday 15 February 2016

Duration

5 days

Price

£698

Approvals

MCA

Assessment

Oral questioning and practical exercises.

Teaching methods

Practical and classroom.

Prerequisites

For crew with suitable sea time experience.

Students require one of the following certificates:

  • Approved Personal Survival Techniques
  • Basic Sea Survival
  • Royal Navy Sea Survival Course
  • Fisherman’s Safety Training Course

Please note: OPITO/BOSIET/FOET is not an acceptable equivalent. 

Proof of at least six months' sea-going service. 

A valid personal medical fitness certificate recognised by the MCA (ENG1 or equivalent). 

Photographic identification.

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours

Cookies and Warsash Maritime Academy

We need to place cookies on your computer to ensure your browsing experience with us is enhanced.

Please continue browsing as normal if you are happy for cookies to be placed on your computer.

Find out how these cookies are used and how to change your settings

Hide this message