Close

Search the site

Proficiency in Survival Craft and Rescue Boats (STCW PSCRB)

View course availability

About this course

  This course prepares crew for the launching and handling of survival craft through a series of practical exercises using a range of open and enclosed lifeboats and inflatable rescue boats to build confidence, competence and knowledge of safety procedures.

Upon completion of the course, students should be able to demonstrate the capability to:

  • Take charge of a survival craft or rescue boat during and after launch
  • Operate a survival craft engine
  • Manage survivors and survival craft after abandoning ship
  • Use locating devices including communications, signalling apparatus and pyrotechnics
  • Apply first aid to survivors.

How to book

Please contact the admissions team if you require more information about this course:

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8201 5004 
Email: wma.training@solent.ac.uk

Normal office hours are (UK time):
Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30


Please be aware that online bookings will be confirmed with joining information within one working day of the booking being made. Confirmation of payment should be received in the normal way.

Please ensure that you follow the booking process and do not enter payment details more than once, unless you are booking more than one course. If you experience any issues, please email wma.training@solent.ac.uk.

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Monday 27 February 2017 Yes £720 Enquire
Monday 6 March 2017 No £720 Enquire
Monday 13 March 2017 No £720 Enquire
Monday 3 April 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 24 April 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 8 May 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 15 May 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 22 May 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 5 June 2017 Yes £720 Enquire
Monday 12 June 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 19 June 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 26 June 2017 Yes £720 Enquire
Monday 10 July 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 17 July 2017 No £720 Enquire
Monday 24 July 2017 Yes £720 Book
Monday 31 July 2017 No £720 Enquire

Course information

Next available date

Monday 27 February 2017

Duration

5 days

Price

£720

Approvals

MCA

Assessment

Oral questioning and practical exercises.

Teaching methods

Practical and classroom.

Prerequisites

For crew with suitable sea time experience.

Students require one of the following certificates:

  • Approved Personal Survival Techniques
  • Basic Sea Survival
  • Royal Navy Sea Survival Course
  • Fisherman’s Safety Training Course

Please note: OPITO/BOSIET/FOET is not an acceptable equivalent. 

Proof of at least six months' sea-going service. 

A valid personal medical fitness certificate recognised by the MCA (ENG1 or equivalent). 

Photographic identification.

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours