Close

Search the site

STCW Basic Safety Training Week

About this course

STCW 2010 requires all seafarers to receive basic safety training or instruction in accordance with section A-VI/1 of the STCW Code. The minimum requirements for familiarisation and basic safety training are contained within the Basic Safety Training Week (BSTW) and meet the appropriate standard of competence.

The components of BSTW are also a requirement for holders of a commercially endorsed Yachtmaster Offshore or Ocean looking to work towards the MCA STCW Master Yacht 200GT (OOW 500GT). The training requirements also include Masters and deck officers on workboats of over 24m and less than 500GT.

Course components

Basic Safety Training Week is made up of four courses which meet the minimum STCW 2010 familiarisation and basic safety training requirements and can either be booked as a single programme of training over one week (for dates and availability see further down this page), or booked individually.

Although it is not a mandatory part of the basic safety training programme, we have included the Proficiency in Security Awareness course during this week at no extra cost for those who book the BSTW as a single programme.

Personal Safety and Social Responsibilities
A classroom-based course covering basic induction training in safety procedures and accident prevention, it also familiarises novices with the employment conditions and working environment on board.

Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting
Outlines precautions for minimising the risk of fire, the causes of fires and how to extinguish them. Also practical training using fire fighting equipment and breathing apparatus to extinguish various types and sizes of fires.

Personal Survival Techniques
Teaches the actions to be taken by individuals to protect themselves in emergency situations and includes practical training using life jackets and inflatable life rafts.

Elementary First Aid
A combination of theory and practical training for basic first aid and life-saving skills.

Proficiency in Security Awareness
Providing knowledge, understanding and proficiency to personnel intending to work on ships who will not have any designated security duties.

How to book

IMPORTANT NOTICE: our online booking system is temporarily unavailable - we are working to fix this and hope to have it back up and running as soon as possible. If you wish to book on this course, please contact the admissions team by email: wma.training@solent.ac.uk. We apologise for any inconvenience in the meantime.

Please contact the admissions team if you require more information about this course:

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8201 5004 
Email: wma.training@solent.ac.uk

Normal office hours are (UK time):
Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30

Please be aware that online bookings will be confirmed with joining information within one working day of the booking being made. Confirmation of payment should be received in the normal way.

Please ensure that you follow the booking process and do not enter payment details more than once, unless you are booking more than one course. If you experience any issues, please email wma.training@solent.ac.uk.

 

If you wish to book an individual course please click on the link below for your required course:

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Monday 26 June 2017 Yes £1025 Enquire
Monday 10 July 2017 Yes £1025 Enquire
Monday 24 July 2017 Yes £1025 Enquire
Monday 31 July 2017 No £1025 Enquire
Monday 4 September 2017 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 25 September 2017 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 16 October 2017 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 6 November 2017 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 27 November 2017 No £999 Enquire
Monday 4 December 2017 No £999 Enquire
Monday 8 January 2018 No £999 Enquire
Monday 15 January 2018 No £999 Enquire
Monday 29 January 2018 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 5 February 2018 No £999 Enquire
Monday 26 February 2018 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 19 March 2018 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 9 April 2018 No £999 Enquire
Monday 16 April 2018 No £999 Enquire
Monday 23 April 2018 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 14 May 2018 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 21 May 2018 No £999 Enquire
Monday 4 June 2018 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 25 June 2018 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 16 July 2018 Yes £999 Enquire
Monday 23 July 2018 No £999 Enquire

Course information

Next available date

Monday 26 June 2017

Duration

5 days

Price

£1025

Approvals

MCA

Career opportunities

Basic requirement for merchant navy and superyacht industry.

Prerequisites

None

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours