Search the site

Officer cadet annual awards

Deck and engineer officer cadet of the year awards

These are awarded to the deck and marine engineer officer cadets who have performed to the highest standard throughout their cadetship and whose overall attainment in theoretical and practical elements is assessed as being outstanding among their peers by the Academy's lecturing staff.

2016 winners
Deck: George Whitfield (Anglo Eastern (UK) Ltd) 
Engineering: Neil Ryan (Maersk Crewing Ltd)

George Whitfield - Deck Cadet of the Year     Neil Ryan - Engineer Cadet of the Year 2016

The Matthew Flinders Navigation Cup

This is awarded to the deck cadet who has best contributed to the ideal: 'to promote excellence in navigation'.

Oliver Le-Roy - Matthew Flinders Navigation Cup 20162016 winner
Oliver Le-Roy (Ship Safe Training Group for Seajacks)





Royal Institute of Navigation's John Milner Prize for Navigation

An annual navigation award for foundation degree deck cadets is sponsored by The Royal Institute of Navigation.

2016 winner
Samuel Rimmer (Chiltern Maritime for Trinity House)

The Isambard Brunel Engineering Cup  

This is awarded to the marine engineer cadet who has best contributed to the ideal: 'to promote excellence in engineering practice'.

2016 winner
Simon Newton (Princess Cruises)


Awards from external organisations

Warsash cadets also win awards presented by external organisations and some of these are listed below. 

Phil Corner receives ROA ETO prize from David GeeRadio Officers' Association ETO prize

This award is for the METO officer cadet who gains the highest marks in the GMDSS Radio Maintenance Certificate exam. The certificate is an integral part of the marine electrical and electronic engineering foundation degree.

2017 winner
Phil Corner (Royal Fleet Auxiliary)

MCA Officer Trainee Officer of the Year Award

The award is for newly qualified officers and recognises outstanding achievement in academic and professional progress, contribution to their class, determination in the face of adversity and promotion of careers at sea.

2015 winner
David Barfoot (Clyde Marine Training / Wilhelmsen Ship Management

British Shipping Safety Awareness AwardsBritish Shipping - Safety Awareness Awards

The competition asks students to suggest an idea which they think would lead to improvements in any aspect of health and safety at sea. The project should be original, innovative and capable of implementation.

2012 winner
Andrew Kingshott (Maersk Crewing Ltd)

2010 winner
Adam Creber (BP Maritime Services)

Bevis Minter Award

The Merchant Navy officer's union, Nautilus UK, presents this award in rotation to the outstanding officer cadet of the year from each of the principal UK maritime training colleges in turn.

2011 winner
Graham Crawford (Viking Recruitment / Holland America Line)

2006 winner
Jane Bicknell (Carnival UK) 

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours