Close

Search the site

Personal Survival Techniques (STCW)

About this course

This course forms part of the mandatory basic safety training for crew. It deals with the actions to be taken by individuals to protect themselves in emergency situations and includes practical training in the use of life jackets and inflatable life rafts.

Exercises are carefully supervised by qualified staff and can be undertaken by non-swimmers.

The training pool used has been specially equipped with a jumping platform, emergency alarms and water spray in order to enhance the realism of the procedures undertaken.

This course is part of the mandatory basic safety training courses, which also include Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting, Personal Safety and Social Responsibilities, and Elementary First Aid.

The course is also included in our STCW Basic Safety Training Week.

How to book

Please contact the admissions team if you require more information about this course:

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8201 5004 
Email: wma.training@solent.ac.uk

Normal office hours are (UK time):
Monday - Thursday: 08.30 - 17.00
Friday 08.30 - 16.30

Please be aware that online bookings will be confirmed with joining information within one working day of the booking being made. Confirmation of payment should be received in the normal way.

Please ensure that you follow the booking process and do not enter payment details more than once, unless you are booking more than one course. If you experience any issues, please email wma.training@solent.ac.uk.

 

Course availability and booking

Availability
Date Places Fee Book
Thursday 6 September 2018 No £235 Enquire
Thursday 20 September 2018 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 27 September 2018 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 4 October 2018 No POA Enquire
Thursday 11 October 2018 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 1 November 2018 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 15 November 2018 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 29 November 2018 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 13 December 2018 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 31 January 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 14 February 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 28 February 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 14 March 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 2 May 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 16 May 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 13 June 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 27 June 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 11 July 2019 Yes £235 Book
Thursday 25 July 2019 Yes £235 Book

Course information

Next available date

Thursday 20 September 2018

Duration

1 Day

Price

£235

Training towards

STCW Basic Safety Training.

Approvals

MCA

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours