Search the site

What do the training programmes involve?

What do the training programmes involve?

Officer cadet training programmes consist of a number of training phases, alternating between time at the Academy and time at sea on board on of your shipping company’s vessels. A brief summary is as follows:

Year 1 – phase 1
Training starts at Warsash and is designed to give officer cadets the necessary skills and academic underpinning knowledge required for professional certification by the MCA and to operate safely at sea. Officer cadets also undertake specific safety courses required by international convention.

Year 1 – phase 2
Training is at sea, gaining practical shipboard experience. In the deck department an officer cadet will work alongside rating and under the supervision of qualified officers, developing practical navigation and other ship operation skills. In the engineering department qualified engineering and electro-technical officers will help officer cadets put their academic theory into practice.

Years 1 and 3 – phases 3,4 and 5
Training alternates between shore-based studies for underpinning knowledge and specialist short courses, and work at sea for professional development. Greater responsibility is given as training progresses. Phase five includes the final examinations and assessments required to complete the cadetship.

Accessibility tools

Change font size

Change colours