Search the site

Officer cadet annual awards

Deck and engineer officer cadet of the year awards

These are awarded to the deck and marine engineer officer cadets who have performed to the highest standard throughout their cadetship and whose overall attainment in theoretical and practical elements is assessed as being outstanding among their peers by the Academy's lecturing staff.

2018 winners

Felix Amoreth  Hollie Trebill collecting Robert Beaver's Engineer Cadet of the Year award on his behalf 
Deck: Felix Amoreth (BP Angola)                                                              Engineering: Robert Beaver (Ship Safe Training Group for Evergreen Marine UK Ltd) 
Hollie Trebill from SSTG collecting on his behalf

The Matthew Flinders Navigation Cup

This is awarded to the deck cadet who has best contributed to the ideal: 'to promote excellence in navigation'.

2018 winner

Douglas Bedford winner of the Matthew Flinders Navigation Cup 
Douglas Bedford (Chiltern Maritime for Condor Ferries)

Royal Institute of Navigation's John Milner Prize for Navigation

An annual navigation award for foundation degree deck cadets is sponsored by The Royal Institute of Navigation.

2018 winner
Adam James (Ship Safe Training Group for Evergreen Marine (UK) Ltd)

The Isambard Brunel Engineering Cup  

This is awarded to the marine engineer cadet who has best contributed to the ideal: 'to promote excellence in engineering practice'.

2018 winner

Hanna Osgood 
Hanna Osgood (Ship Safe Training Group for TUI)

Commendation for individual achievement

This award is made to the deck or marine engineer cadet who has demonstrated exceptional motivation, effort and determination to bring their cadetship to a successful conclusion. The chosen cadet is presented with the Sword of Honour. In addition, they also receive a prize generously donated by the Warsash Association: an engraved cup, a framed certificate, and five years' complimentary membership to the Association..

2018 winner

Matthew Gigg 
Matthew Gigg (V.Ships/Maritime Education Foundation) 

Awards from external organisations

Warsash cadets also win awards presented by external organisations and some of these are listed below. 

Radio Officers' Association ETO prize

This award is for the METO officer cadet who gains the highest marks in the GMDSS Radio Maintenance Certificate exam. The certificate is an integral part of the marine electrical and electronic engineering foundation degree.

2018 winner
Adam Surmon-Bohr (BP Maritime Services)

2017 winner
Phillip Corner (Royal Fleet Auxiliary)

MCA Officer Trainee Officer of the Year Award

The award is for newly qualified officers and recognises outstanding achievement in academic and professional progress, contribution to their class, determination in the face of adversity and promotion of careers at sea.

2018 winner
Matthew Gigg (V.Ships/Maritime Education Foundation)

2015 winner
David Barfoot (Clyde Marine Training / Wilhelmsen Ship Management)

British Shipping - Safety Awareness Awards

The competition asks students to suggest an idea which they think would lead to improvements in any aspect of health and safety at sea. The project should be original, innovative and capable of implementation.

2012 winner
Andrew Kingshott (Maersk Crewing Ltd)

2010 winner
Adam Creber (BP Maritime Services)

Bevis Minter Award

The Merchant Navy officer's union, Nautilus UK, presents this award in rotation to the outstanding officer cadet of the year from each of the principal UK maritime training colleges in turn.

2016 winner
Declan Rogers (Carisbrooke Shipping)

2011 winner
Graham Crawford (Viking Recruitment / Holland America Line)